A family tradition over six generations

1871

Ein Bild von früher

Image from previous times

On Kirchweihsonntag (the yearly festival for the anniversary of the church consecration), 15 Oct. 1871, Joseph Siebenrock opened an inn on the Bohl. The ‘Rosengarten’ catered to the needs of the local population, as well as workers on the neighbouring railway line. When Siebenrock died, his widow married Gerold Speh, who came from Walke. He took over the stately inn and the associated extensive farming activities. After the death of his wife, the co-founder, he married Luzia Spalt, originally from Heudorf. In 1916 Speh died and his widow married Adolf Schmid, also widowed, who was the ‘Rosenwirt’ until 1940.
After this Karl Speh, the son of Gerold and Luzia Speh, took over the estate. Together with his wife Wally, née Reiner, from Mengen, he ran the ‘Rosengarten’ for more than 30 years and they turned it into a guesthouse widely known for its good traditional food. Alongside this, ‘Pfeifen-Karle’ (‘Pipe-Karl’), as the affable innkeeper was locally
known, also ran his large farm. With his handsome team of horses, his pride and joy, he was a well-known local character.

1972

The new hotel

In the fifth, uninterrupted family generation, the prestigious inn went to Rosemarie and Hubert Krugger in 1972. Following the relocation of the farm, they removed the agricultural buildings, built a large house and completely renovated the guest rooms. Their excellent food and hospitality helped the ‘Rosengarten’ to become a widely known guesthouse.

2006

In 2006, Gerd Krugger and Marlies Zimmermann, two specialists who had trained in many renowned guesthouses, took over the parental property. With a larger conversion in 2006, they expanded the guest rooms and renovated the kitchen and adjoining rooms.

In 2008, they began breeding Galloway cattle on their own farmland to produce meat for their guests. Since then the old ‘Rosengarten’ has been known as Beim Rinderwirt.

2013/2014

In 2013/14, they created another cornerstone for their business with the construction of a hotel. The new hotel and the guesthouse meet the standards of modern gastronomy in every respect and are thus frequented by guests from all over Germany, as well as international visitors. With their three daughters Lena, Hannah and Romy, the next generation is already in the starting blocks. Thus can the family tradition can be carried on into the future.

Eine Familiengeschichte über sechs Generationen

1871

Ein Bild von früher

Ein Bild von früher

Am Kirchweihsonntag, 15. Okt. 1871, eröffnete Joseph Siebenrock am Bohl eine Wirtschaft. Der „Rosengarten“ bot neben der einheimischen Bevölkerung vor allem den Arbeitern an der unmittelbar nebenan liegenden Eisenbahnstrecke die Möglichkeit einer Einkehr. Als Siebenrock starb, heiratete seine Witwe den aus der Walke stammenden Gerold Speh. Dieser übernahm das stattliche Gasthaus und die dazugehörige umfangreiche Landwirtschaft. Nach dem Tod der Mitgründerin heiratete er die aus Heudorf stammende Luzia Spalt. 1916 starb Speh und seine Witwe heiratete den ebenfalls verwitweten Adolf Schmid, der bis 1940 der „Rosenwirt“ war.
Nach ihm übernahm Karl Speh, der Sohn aus der ersten Ehe seiner Mutter, das Anwesen. Zusammen mit seiner Frau Wally, geb. Reiner, aus Mengen betrieb er den „Rosengarten“ über 30 Jahre lang und sie machten ein weitum für seine gut bürgerliche Küche bekanntes Gasthaus daraus. Dazu betrieb der „Pfeifen-Karle“, wie der leutselige Gastwirt im Volksmund genannt
wurde, seine große Landwirtschaft. Mit seinem stattlichen Pferdegespann, seinem ganzen Stolz, war er ein ortsbekanntes Original.

1972

Das neugebaute Hotel

In der fünften, ununterbrochenen Familiengeneration ging das angesehene Gasthaus 1972 an Rosemarie und Hubert Krugger. Nach der Aussiedlung des Bauernhofes entfernten sie die landwirtschaftlichen Gebäude, erstellten ein mehrgeschossiges Wohnhaus und erneuerten und renovierten die Gasträume vollständig. Ihnen gelang es, dank einer vorzüglichen Küche und gepflegter Gastlichkeit, den „Rosengarten“ zu einem landauf-landab bekannten Haus zu machen.

2006

Mit Gerd Krugger und Marlies Zimmermann übernahmen 2006 zwei in vielen renommierten Häusern ausgebildete Fachleute das elterliche Anwesen. Mit einem größeren Umbau 2006 erweiterten sie die Gasträume, sanierten Küche und Nebenräume.
Auf eigenen landwirtschaftlichen Flächen begannen sie 2008 mit der Zucht von Galloway-Rindern für die Fleischerzeugung für den Gastbetrieb. Seither trägt der alte „Rosengarten“ den Namen „Beim Rinderwirt“. 2013/14 schufen sie mit dem Bau eines Hotels ein weiteres Standbein für ihr Unternehmen. Das neue Hotel und das Gasthaus entsprechen in jeder Hinsicht den Standards
moderner Gastronomie und sind entsprechend auch national und international frequentiert. Mit den drei Töchtern Lena, Hannah und Romy steht für die Zukunft schon die nächste Generation bereit. Die Familientradition kann also weitergehen.